View Full Version : modchipstore.com - are they real?
funkynote
12-27-2007, 01:54 PM
i ordered a wiikey and some accessories from modchipstore.com about 2 weeks ago, whenever I check the shipping status there is none. I tried emailing through their support a few times and I never get any reply. I might be jumping the gun a little early, but did anyone else have problems with them? Anyone have a their phone number? I tried 866-897-7655 which I found on an older post, but the number is either busy or I get nothing. Did I get scammed?
Skeav
12-27-2007, 04:33 PM
i use http://www.modchipfitters.com mate
Cyrone
12-27-2007, 04:33 PM
2 weeks?? Thats kinda shady. I never heard of that store before, but unless they are overseas they shouldn't be taking 2 weeks.
phyl0x
12-28-2007, 08:28 AM
sorry buddy you got scammed, that site isnt legit. I ordered some wiikeys from them and never got anything...i tried to cancel but got no reply, they charged my card anyway. Luckily since i had proof i tried to cancel before they charged my card, my card company credited me the money back.
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/ModChipStore
funkynote
12-28-2007, 10:54 PM
thank for the info guys. i wish i would've come across that resellerratings.com thread before i attempted my purchase. i just ordered from modchipfitters.com and they at least gave me a tracking number as of now. thanks again!
hehehhehe
12-28-2007, 11:32 PM
Make sure to do a chargeback. It'll hurt them.
tatahed
12-29-2007, 12:03 AM
I ordered cyclo DS and never recieved 23 days later had to sick bank of america on them to get money back. They got my money back fast.
Skeav
12-29-2007, 05:22 AM
www.modchipfitters.com good place orderd it on Thursday and got it on Saturday :D:D:D
SoNiC4520
12-29-2007, 12:24 PM
Hmmmm odd ive ordered an R4DS from them and I got it in a day even though I did the cheapest shipping method. Looks like I got lucky:D
Kanye West
12-29-2007, 07:10 PM
I ordered my M3Simply from there, um. I got it like in a week. I guess it depends on where you live.
Krusty2515
12-30-2007, 06:03 AM
hey i have ordered from them and they came in pretty fast. I have the personal email address of the guy who works there. It is jarretmodc@aol.com
His AIM is jarretmodc
phyl0x
01-17-2008, 11:16 PM
So update on the above, my bank took my refund back, because i used a debit card they say its not fraud or something ridiculous. However, today, i get an email from modchipstore.com saying my order (the one i order on 11/1/07 and tried several times to cancel) was shipped. And even better, the Live Support is online. So i dunno if they're trying to make good, I submitted to live support that i just want my money back, we'll see what happens. Anyone else get an email from them?
funkynote
01-18-2008, 07:18 PM
yeah, i got an email also saying my credit card was billed after i sent about 5 emails asking them to cancel. it seems like any new orders are getting screwed, but they used to be pretty good. i found a bunch of forums about people complaining about them lately.
i ordered a wiikey from modchipfitters and received it in a timely manner.
Infinity-X
01-19-2008, 06:46 PM
My friend ordered his R4 and got it in 3 days from them. (Probably would have been 2 but it was a holiday <_<)
Mcmuck
01-22-2008, 06:44 AM
I recently ordered a replacement drive from them for my 360, on the site they are quoted as being "Brand New"... when it arrived and I installed it, the first thing I found inside the drive was about a years worth of dust, how this is "Brand New" I will never know, trying to contact them is a nightmare, telephone is never answered, neither are emails, think my only option is to contact trading standards...
Would stay away from them if I was you!:mad::mad::mad:
aar0n2k2
01-30-2008, 08:52 PM
i think i saw this post a few clicks too late...
paid for "widget" last week...they still havent pulled the funds and havent tried...
no response from modchipstore.com's user thats the on these forums nor the company...terrible
can we vote to have him banned? his company has cheated your users...
phyl0x
01-30-2008, 11:47 PM
Well despite the email they sent me (over 2 months after the order date and cancellation date and numerous unanswered messages and emails) saying my products were shipping. It seems the shipping number is a generic one. It has been almost 2 weeks (I can drive to where it was supposedly sent from in 9 hours..) and no product. The number only brings up a canadian post website saying it was accepted at post office...no info on where it was sent of if it was delivered or if its in transit...nothing.
DO NOT BUY FROM THEM. THEY ARE A SCAM SITE. THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY.
slayer080
01-31-2008, 07:53 AM
no they are not a scam site i got mine modded from them so stop badmouthing companies you know nothing about u wasteman, good service and to reply to the topic yes they are real
Mr.Do!
01-31-2008, 10:36 AM
I never got my order from them... ordered it over a month ago...
in their defense, they never charged me.... but they wont answer my emails..
i dont know if i would call them a scam site... but they are def, unreliable at best...
hehehhehe
01-31-2008, 10:50 AM
I would not say they are are a scam company but they are close. This is a horrible company. Just do a search here and look them up on resellerratings and you'll see. If you paid with a credit card and they are being unresponsive especially when you're trying to cancel an order, DO A CHARGEBACK. Otherwise, they're going to send you your product about a month later when you might've purchased it somewhere else.
lenitao
01-31-2008, 04:58 PM
omg.....thanks for all this guys!!!
i was about to order a wiikey from there......
funkynote
01-31-2008, 08:16 PM
yup, they are horrible and i really with the would close down or shape up. i made the order about 2 months ago, about 2 weeks ago (even after about a dozen emails from me requesting to cancel my order) i was charged.... ofcourse no product received..... i had to call my credit card company and do a charge back because i feel i was clearly scammed. they might've been good at one time, but now they blow fat chunkies...
Astrax
01-31-2008, 11:19 PM
I ordered a wiikey from them on November and it arrived in the same week.
lenitao
02-01-2008, 07:31 AM
I ordered a wiikey from them on November and it arrived in the same week.
so they are not totally fake???
phyl0x
02-01-2008, 06:44 PM
I dont know how you keep defending them. They used to be a legit site till around nov. now they just scam ppl....
if you want to order from a company that has a 0.63/10 (less than a 1) in customer satisfaction, go for it. but i dont see why anyone would take the risk with so many unquestionably legit sites out there.
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/ModChipStore
its not some localized problem, just check that site.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.